svbck.org

The Mountain of Madness that is me deciding on a Task Manager setup - aka My Last Two Weeks

After about 8 months of using exclusively Emacs/Orgmode for all my task management and agenda needs, I happened to open one of my old Bullet Journals and remembered how much I enjoy analog task management.

Two hours later I had purchased a new Leuchtturm1917 Bullet Journal and migrated all that had been important from my todo.org into the new notebook and continued with my work.

leutchtturm

That was two weeks ago.

Sounds great , doesnā€™t it? But since then I have used the Leuchtturm1917 Bullet Journal (obviously), then switched for 36 hours to the Hobonichi notebook because it has a much better grid size, is thinner and lighter. Then switched back to the Leuchtturm1917 even though the grid size feels too large, but the Hobonichiā€™s paper feels too bright and I couldnā€™t settle on one cover (the leather one, the vinyl one or maybe the canvas one?)

Next thing I know is that I set up the Bullet Journal system in Obsidian (of course, why wouldnā€™t I?!) and switched back to the Leuchtturm1917 setup a day or two later for whatever reason ... and then back to Obsidian again

Itā€™s likely that I forgot one more switch and all of the above, with all its necessary migrating of content, is as maddening as it sounds.

To be completely honest, the Bullet Journal setup that I have built (so far that is) in Obsidian is a great one! Itā€™s nothing special but it works well.

I simply re-created the Bullet Journal System, with a Weekly- and Daily-Log, have tasks automatically rolled over to the next day and set up a few templates to speed up things. I can easily link-to or embed projects and collections, and have it easily on the phone/tablet as well (of course I set up the sync).

It has all the clarity and cleanness that I am looking for and yes, I am aware about The Stupid Amount of Time I spend on this, and I admit that I am wrong with what I wrote in said about Obsidian. Turns out, I like it now more than I thought I would. I guess I havenā€™t just given it enough of a chance.

Either way, I declare defeat on the analog-way! This setup isā€¦

PERFECT!

We have a winner! šŸŽ‰

ā€¦ which was when I remembered my old trusted Travelerā€™s Notebook!

ā€¦ aaaand I enjoy this a lot. I can tweak it, set it up the way I want, personalize it, make it my own! In short: tinker with it. For reasons unknown it even inspires me to draw and do sketches in my notebook.

Itā€™s like the Tardis - bigger on the inside. Opening it feels like entering a different world. Itā€™s great!

Judging by the ā€œoldā€ inlays I stopped using it on the 1st of January 2022. Iā€™m sure I have elaborated at length about that switch in the journal in there, but Iā€™m not going to check that out (turns out I did it here on the blog).

So, Iā€™m using this now and try to figure out how to best use a mix of an analog workflow in the Travelerā€™s Notebook and Obsidian.

Chances are, that by tomorrow I will use something completely different, say index cards, tasks a roll of toilet paper (has anyone even tried that?! - Iā€™m refusing to search for that), or maybe even Todoist but I try not to.

#journal #stationery